Art Galleries and Museums
- Artists Space : A gallery for emerging artists in New York City.
- Brooklyn Museum of Art : The Brooklyn Museum of Art is the second largest art museum in New York City and one of the largest in the United States.
- Crocker Art Museum : Located in Sacramento, CA. Can search by name, artist, or medium.
- The Frick Collection and Frick Art Reference Library: The Frick Collection from New York City.
- The Getty Museum : Located in Los Angeles. This site also offers over 100 videos to learn about the collection, art-making techniques, conservation projects, and exhibitions.
- Guggenheim : Located in New York, Venice, Bilbao and Abu Dhabi.
- LOUVRE : Paris, France. When searching the collection one can do a simple search or use their databases.
- The Metropolitan Museum of Art : The Metropolitan Museum of Art from New York City.
- The Museum of Modern Art : The world’s first museum dedicated to modern art located in New York City.
- Smithsonian : This link goes to the collection but one can search from here the art and design encyclopedia.
- World Museums and Galleries : Links to the official pages of the world’s major museum and galleries.
- Masks From Around the World Recommended by Ms. McGinn
- Masks Around the World : This collection is from the Museum of Anthropology @ the University of Missouri.
- Art History Resources on the Web
- African Masks
- Japanese Masks
- Mexican Masks
- Native American Masks of the Northwest and Alaska
- New Guinea Masks
- Stone Age Mask
- Faberge – Imperial Eggs
- Faberge – Mieks Recommended by Ms. McGinn
- PBS – History of the Faberge Eggs
- Artcyclopedia : The Artcyclopedia is primarily an index to where paintings, sculptures and other great works of fine art can be viewed online, at hundreds of art museum sites and image archives worldwide.
- ArtLex : a collection of links to information about art
- Art Resource : is the world’s largest photo archive of fine art. The site includes high quality images of works of painting, sculpture, architecture and the minor arts from most of the world’s major museums, monuments, and commercial archives.
- The Elements of Design
- Internet Art Resources
- PBS Art 21 Explore Artists
- Modern Art : Here is a short overview on important modern art movements from Impressionism to Op Art.
- Timeline modern & contemporary art : The masters since 1900 are represented with their portrait and biography, with links to web resources to find anything you want to know about them, with images of their work, comprehensive biographies and articles, and if it exists, the artist ‘s personal website.
List of all the Art Books in the Lincoln High School Library:
Alford, Violet. The seasons : natural rites and traditions. New York: Cavendish Square, 2015. Print.
Allard, William A. Portraits of America. Washington, D.C.: National Geographic Insight, 2001. Print.
Ashe, Geoffrey. Apocalyptic visions : end of life, the afterlife, and the end of the world. New York: Cavendish Square, 2015. Print.
Atkins, Robert. Artspeak : a guide to contemporary ideas, movements, and buzzwords, 1945 to the present. New York: Abbeville Press Publishers, 2013. Print.
Beckett, Wendy. Sister Wendy’s American masterpieces. New York, NY: DK, 2000. Print.
Beckett, Wendy, and Patricia Wright. Sister Wendy’s l000 masterpieces. New York: DK Pub., 1999. Print.
Biracree, Tom. Grandma Moses. New York: Chelsea House Publishers, 1989. Print.
Burt, Cyril. Beliefs, rituals, and symbols of the modern world. New York: Cavendish Square, 2015. Print.
Carter, David A. Salvador Dali. New York: Chelsea House, 1995. Print.
Chevalier, Tracy. Girl with a pearl earring. New York: Plume, 2001. Print.
Cockcroft, James D. Diego Rivera. New York: Chelsea House, 1991. Print.
Cox, Neil. An interview with Pablo Picasso. New York: Cavendish Square, 2015. Print.
Cushway, Phil. Art of the Dead : a celebration of the artists behind the American rock poster movement. Berkeley, CA: Soft Skull Press, 2012. Print.
Darton, Mike. Art deco : an illustrated guide to the decorative style 1920-40. Secaucus, N.J.: Wellfleet Press, 1989. Print.
Deats, Suzanne, and Kitty Leaken. Contemporary Native American artists. Layton, Utah: Gibbs Smith, 2012. Print.
Debolini, Francesca, and Anna Kruger. Leonardo da Vinci. New York: DK Pub., 1999. Print.
Dubin, Lois S., Paul Jones, and Togashi. North American Indian jewelry and adornment : from prehistory to the present. New York: Harry N. Abrams, 1999. Print.
Faber, Toby. Fabergé’s eggs : the extraordinary story of the masterpieces that outlived an empire. New York: Random House, 2008. Print.
Fallon, Michael, and Andy Warhol. How to analyze the works of Andy Warhol. Edina, Minn.: ABDO Pub. Co., 2011. Print.
Garza, Hedda. Frida Kahlo. New York: Chelsea House, 1994. Print.
Gompertz, Will. What are you looking at? : the surprising, shocking, and sometimes strange story of 150 years of modern art. New York: Dutton, 2012. Print.
Gowing, Lawrence. The Encyclopedia of visual art. Danbury, Conn.: Grolier Educational Corp., 1983. Print.
Greenberg, Jan, and Sandra Jordan. Runaway girl : the artist Louise Bourgeois. New York, NY: Abrams, 2003. Print.
—. Vincent Van Gogh : portrait of an artist. New York, NY: Delacorte Press, 2001. Print.
Heller, Nancy. Women artists : an illustrated history. New York: Abbeville Press, 1987. Print.
Hill, Z B. Art festivals & galleries : the art of selling art. Broomall, PA: Mason Crest, 2015. Print.
Hirschmann, Kris. Impressionism. San Diego, CA: ReferencePoint Press, 2015. Print.
Kallen, Stuart A. Claude Monet. Detroit: Lucent Books, 2009. Print.
—. Sculpture. San Diego, CA: ReferencePoint Press, Inc., 2015. Print.
Kemp, Martin. The Oxford history of Western art. New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2000. Print.
Lassaigne, Jacques. Impressionism. New York: Funk & Wagnalls, 1970. Print.
Maguire, Gregory. Egg & spoon. Somerville, Mass.: Candlewick Press, 2014. Print.
Marshall Cavendish Corporation. Great artists of the Western World. New York, NY: Marshall Cavendish Corporation, 2001. Print.
National Museum of American Art (U.S.), and Elizabeth Prelinger. The Gilded Age : treasures from the Smithsonian American Art Museum. New York, N.Y.: Watson-Guptill Publications in association with the Smithsonian American Art Museum, 2000. Print.
Pettit, Jayne. Michelangelo : genius of the Renaissance. New York, N.Y.: Franklin Watts, 1998. Print.
Piyasena, Sam. Just paint it!. Hauppauge, N.Y.: Barron’s Educational Series, Inc., 2014. Print.
Prette, Maria C., and Alfonso De Giorgis. Atlas ilustrado de historia del arte : historia, lenguajes, épocas, estilos. Madrid: Susaeta, 2010. Print.
Rapelli, Paola, and Anna Kruger. Monet. New York,N.Y.: DK Pub., 1999. Print.
Reef, Catherine. Frida & Diego : art, love, life. Boston: Clarion Books/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2014. Print.
Romei, Francesca, and Leonardo. Leonardo da Vinci : artist, inventor, and scientist of the Renaissance. New York: Peter Bedrick Books, 1994. Print.
Rowell, Rebecca, and ABDO Digital. Randolph Caldecott renowned British illustrator. Edina, MN: ABDO Publishing Co., 2010. PDF.
Standring, Timothy J., Louis v. Tilborgh, and Simon Kelly. Becoming van Gogh. Denver, Colo.: Denver Art Museum, 2012. Print.
Stanley, Diane. Michelangelo. New York: HarperCollins, 2000. Print.
Stewart, Gail B. Graphic arts. San Diego, CA: ReferencePoint Press, Inc., 2015. Print.
Time-Life Books. What life was like in the time of war and peace : Imperial Russia, AD 1696-1917. Alexandria, VA: Time-Life, 1998. Print.
Torterolo, Anna, and Anna Kruger. Van Gogh. New York: DK Pub., 1999. Print.
Viola, Herman J., Joseph D. Horse Capture, and George P. Horse Capture. Warrior artists : historic Cheyenne and Kiowa Indian ledger art : drawn by Making Medicine and Zotum. Washington, D.C.: National Geographic Society, 1998. Print.
Wallace, Carol. Leaving Van Gogh : a novel. New York: Spiegel & Grau, 2011. Print.
Weiss, Jim, Greathall Productions Inc., and Findaway World, LLC. Masters of the Renaissance. Greathall Productions, 2014. Audio recording.
Willett, Edward, and Andy Warhol. Andy Warhol : “everyone will be famous for 15 minutes”. Berkeley Heights, NJ: Enslow Publishers, 2011. Print.