Lincoln High School Library

Online Resources Available 24 Hours A Day

English

Classics

  • The Internet Classics Archive : Select from a list of 441 works of classical literature by 59 different authors, including user-driven commentary and “reader’s choice” Web sites. Mainly Greco-Roman works (some Chinese and Persian), all in English translation.

Literary Criticism

  • Online Literary Criticism Collection : The IPL Online Literary Criticism Collection contains 1576 critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by literary period.

Literature Guide

  • The Children’s Literature Web Guide : The Children’s Literature Web Guide is an attempt to gather together and categorize the growing number of Internet resources related to books for Children and Young Adults. Much of the information that you can find through these pages is provided by others: fans, schools, libraries, and commercial enterprises involved in the book world.

 

Mythology

  • The Encyclopedia Mythica : This is an encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, legends, and more. It contains over 4700 definitions of gods and goddesses, supernatural beings and legendary creatures and monsters from all over the world.
  • Greek Mythology : The Greek Myth Project from San Diego State University.
  • Mythology : This site provides information on the gods and goddesses of cultures around the world, but not by region/culture as is the case with many other sites. Instead, users can search for information about objects in the sky (e.g., sun, moon) and then read about the gods from various mythologies that are associated with those objects. There is also information on myths, family tree, and culture.
  • Myth Man’s Homework Help List of Greek gods and goddesses.  In addition there is a section on modern day allusions to Greek Myths.

 

Online English Grammar Guides

  • Guide to Grammar and Writing : This site is maintained by Professor Charles Darling for English classes at Capital Community College in Hartford Connecticut. This site is well organized and an excellent resource for students who need help with their writing and grammar.

Shakespeare

  • Enotes – William Shakespeare : An extensive study guide for the works of William Shakespeare. This is a commercial site but they do provide access to some text at no charge.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica’s Guide to Shakespeare : Presentation on the life and works of William Shakespeare. Includes a biography, plot synopses of his plays, essays on Elizabethan Theater, an overview of Elizabethan England, and discussion on the authorship debate.
  • Folger Shakespeare Library : The Folger Shakespeare Library is the world’s largest and finest collection of Shakespeare materials.
  • Internet Shakespeare Editions : This University of Victoria site provides you with scholarly, fully annotated texts of Shakespeare’s plays, multimedia explorations of the context of Shakespeare’s life and works, and records of his plays in performance.
  • MIT Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive : 40 full-length Shakespearean plays plus can access other Shakespearean  plays in other languages
  • NEA – Shakespeare: Sort the plays by when they were written, performed, or type.  Also, access a summary of the play.
  • Shakespeare Online : One of the top free sites on the Web for information on the Bard.
  • Shakespeare’s Words : The site integrates the full text of the plays and poems with an entire glossary database, allowing you to search for any word or phrase in Shakespeare’s works, and in particular to find all instances of all words that may pose you difficulty.

 

Poetry

  • Poets.org : Poetry, Poets, Bios and more…
  • Poems and Poets: The Poetry Foundation : A searchable database including poems and poetry for all occasions. The site offers entry to thousands of poems by category (nature, religion, arts and sciences, etc.); occasion (birthdays, funerals, and holidays); first line; 10 most recently added poems; glossary terms; and 10 most popular poems.
  • Representative Poetry Online : This database includes about 2,900 English poems by over 400 poets from Caedmon, in the Old English period, to the work of living poets today. Search poets alphabetically or chronologically, their poems by title, or their poems by first line or last line.

Writing

  • How to write a paper:

Databases

ebscoLA username: fightingzebras  password: zebras