Lincoln High School Library

Online Resources Available 24 Hours A Day

Government and History

 

HRC_slider username: fightingzebras
password: zebras

European

  • The Victorian Web : This award winning site features the literature, history, and culture in the age of Victoria.

 

French Revolution

  • Imaging the French Revolution : A study of the faces of the crowds in revolutionary France. use the image tool to get a closer look at the images during the French Revolution.

 

Industrial Revolution

 

Timelines

 

World History

  • History Central : History Resources, a World-Wide Web Virtual Library, includes hundreds of resources/sites. Organized alphabetically by site title and by era, region and subject. Comprehensive.
  • History Channel : This site provides access to reliable, primary source historical documentation. Especially useful aspects are the archives of great speeches (especially handy if you are creating a Multimedia Scrapbook) and the This Day in History section.
  • Hyperhistory Online : HyperHistory Online is a growing project which presents 3000 years of world history with a combination of colorful graphics, lifelines, timelines, and maps. Timelines of famous people, events, history, science, culture, religion, and politics are all included here. The History Chart, for example, shows you what was happening in each continent during a particular year. Best of all, clicking on a blue hyperlink allows users to get more information on a particular subject, like the Hun invasion. Historical maps show important events during World War II, while sections like Connections provide essays on interesting interconnected events.

World War I

  • Europe 1914 – 1918 :  Over 400,000 items digitized, including 650 hours of film on the war.  An excellent source of primary documents including unpublished letters, photographs, and other keepsakes.
  • First World War.com:The war to end all wars : A volunteer contributed site providing an overview of World War I. The author does not recommend the site be used for school or university research but the site is an excellent overview intended for general audiences.
  • World War I Document Archive : This archive of primary documents from World War I has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). The archive is international in focus and intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War.
  • World War I – Trenches on the Web : Trenches on the Web is an online reference library on World War I. It contains links to a variety of resources on the allied and axis powers including battles, weapons, photographs and important events, including the historic events that lead up the beginning of the war. All of the articles on the site are accompanied by paintings depicting the war.

 

World War II

  • World War II – Documents : The Avalon Project offers electronic versions of World War II, Nazi-Soviet relations 1939-41, Nuremberg War Crimes Trial documents.

 

Cold War

  • Cold War : The National Archives Learning Curve from the United Kingdom presents 6 galleries on the Cold War, including film footage from the period.
  • Cold War International History Project : The Cold War International History Project disseminates new information and perspectives on the history of the Cold War, in particular new findings from previously inaccessible sources on “the other side” — the former Communist world.
  • Cold War International History Project’s Cold War Files: primary sources : Virtual library holding of a large amount of released government material (from all sides of the Cold War), as well as scholarly commentary and articles. This site is a recent product of the efforts of the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars. In the spirit of making historical documents public (from all sides of the Cold War), the center has compiled a large number of them on this site. Visitors will find the original translated document along with scholarly commentary and footnotes. Additionally, many scholars have articles on Cold War archival research posted on this site.
  • The Cold War Museum : This site hosts a reference library and research center to help maintain the historical accuracy of the Cold War.

 

Elections

  • Citizen Voice : A local Sacaramento non-profit sharing non-partisan information regarding issues affecting our community.
  • Vote Smart. : A non-profit, non partisan website for educational purposes. Each canidate and elected official is evaluated by the Voter’s Self Defense System
  • Fact Check : A project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania that monitors factual accuracy from what major political players are saying on radio, tv, and print.
  • C-Span : Up to date information on Congress, Politics, Books, and American History
  • Open Secrets : A non-profit, non-partisan group that tracks the money spent in politics.
  • Politico : A forum for discussing politics.
  • MSNBC : Up to the date information on politics delivered by NBC