- PE Central:The Premier web site for health and physical educators.
- PELINKS4U – Physical Education, Health, Fitness & Sports Information
Babe Ruth LeagueBaseball America – “The home for baseball insiders.”Baseball Cards: 1887-1914 – 2,100 early baseball cards dating from 1887 to 1914 from the Library of Congress. Searchable by keyword and browsable by player, team, league, city and card set.Baseball Films of the Silent Era – Carl Bennett’s “database of information on films produced in the silent era of world cinema.”Baseball Links – John Skilton’s comprehensive collection of baseball links.Boston Red SoxBusiness of Baseball Committee – “The goal of this site is to provide research tools for those wishing to learn more about the business end of professional baseball.”By Popular Demand: Jackie Robinson and Other Baseball Highlights, 1860s – 1960s – Library of CongressCarolina League Baseball – Greensboro, North CarolinaJackie Robinson: A Baseball Celebration – New York Times Web SpecialLittle League Baseball – Official site provides information on Little League Baseball World Series.Major League BaseballNational Baseball Hall of Fame – Cooperstown, New York. The A. Bartlett Giamatti Research Center provides Archival Finding Aids and Inventories.New York YankeesPhysics of Baseball – Adam Kleinbaum, Harvard Science Review, Winter 1997. (Seearchives.) The Science of Sports issue also has articles on golf, sprained ankles, concussions in football and anabolic steroids.Society for American Baseball Research – With links to members’ websitesSoftball – Official site of the Women’s Pro Softball LeagueTotal Baseball
Black Magic – ESPN documentary on the integration of college basketball aired March 16-17, 2008.College Hoops InsiderD3hoops – “Definitive resource for Division III men’s and women’s basketball.”Harlem GlobetrottersNaismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame – Springfield, MassachusettsNBA.com – Official site of the National Basketball AssociationNCAA Final Four – Official site of the NCAA basketball championships.ShaqWorld Online – Shaquille O’Neal
Biomechanics Magazine – “Magazine of body movement and medicine.”Biomechanics Worldwide– J. Pierre Baudin’s extensive collection of links to biomechanic resources in the U.S. and Canada. Includes links to journals, societies, conferences, career opportunities.Coaches’ Information Service (CIS) – An initiative of the International Society of Biomechanics in Sports and the University of Edinburgh. Offers short articles and research in the following subjects: basketball, coaching, cricket, field athletics, golf, gymnastics, rowing, soccer, strength & conditioning, swimming, team handball, tennis, track athletics,volleyball and water polo. Among Hit Parade Top 20, for example, is a paper on Kicking (in soccer) by Pekka Luhtanen, Research Institute for Olympic Sports, Finland, and What Stroke Should be Taught First? (swimming) by Ross Sanders, University of Edinburgh, Scotland. Provides information on editors.International Society of Biomechanics in Sports – Sponsors of the XVIth Symposium of the International Society of Biomechanics in Sports held at the University of Konstanz, July 21-25, 1998. You can search for keywords and authors in all ISBS Proceedings back to 1987. In the Who’s Who database you can search for a person, a biomechanist with a specific expertise or colleagues in a specific country. Their ISBS Coaches’ Info Service “is a new platform to communicate applied biomechanics research with coaches and athletes of various sports.”
Badjocks – Bob RenoCurrent Biography Excerpts – “Online excerpts from all of the articles on sports figures that have appeared in Current Biography since 1983.”Distinguished Women of Past and Present: SportsEndurance Radio – “Online radio programs and interviews with endurance athletes and coaches.” With Archives. Recent interviews: Bruce Jenner, John Wallace, Greg Tanner, Jeff Galloway, Melanie Mcquaid, Drew Holms, Conrad Daniels, Christine Des Efants, Paul Greer, Ryne Melcher, Scott Slade, Pat Connelly, Richard Diaz, Bruce Bauman, and Nancy Eastman.
College Fight Songs Homepage – Trevor D. BarnesCollege Hoops InsiderCollegeNews Online – Links to about 400 campus newspapers. Browse College Name orgeographically.College Sports News DailyEastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC)Ivy League Sports – Council of Ivy Group Presidents. Offers pages devoted to Fall, Winter and Spring sports (some of which have archives dating back to the 1950s).John S. and James L. Knight Foundation – The Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletic issues Reports on college sports, including A Call to Action: Reconnecting College Sports and Higher Education released in June 2001 (in pdf format).National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) – Has links to members.National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) – Provides a Statistics page and links tomembers.NCAA SportsThe NCAA and Collegiate Athletics – Archived lecture (1:01:29) given by Myles Brand, president of the National Collegiate Athletic Association, at Boston College on February 20, 2004.NCAA Final Four – Official site of the NCAA basketball championships.
Shirley Povich Tribute – Tribute to the Washington Post columnist who died June 4, 1998.
CricInfo: the Home of Cricket on the InternetLords Cricket Grounds – Owned by the Marylebone Cricket Club, and located in St John’s Wood – part of the London borough of Westminster. “Lord’s is the home of Middlesex County Cricket Club and the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB), as well as theInternational Cricket Council (ICC).”
Diving Medicine Online – Ernest S CampbellDoc’s Diving Medicine Home Page – Edmond Kay, a physician for the University of Washington’s Diving Safety Program, has put together this undersea medicine site focusing on diving safety for both sport and professional divers.
Once-Paralyzed Player Circles Back to Aid the Injured – Weekend Sunday Edition (NPR), October 24, 2010. Interview with Adam Taliaferro.American Football Coaches AssociationBuffalo Bills Online – Official siteDenver Broncos – Official siteGreen Bay Packers – Official siteNFL – Official site of the National Football LeagueSuperbowl.com – Official site
Archive of the Royal Dutch Football Association (KNVB)Football Association – Official site of the English Football Association
American Junior Golf AssociationAP Inside Golf – Associated Press podcastsAskernish – In the April 20th 2009 New Yorker Magazine “David Owen writes about the restoration of Askernish, a century-old golf course in South Uist, off Scotland’s west coast. Here, Owen narrates an audio slide show about his recent trip to the island.” See articleabstractBad Golf MonthlyBritish Open – Official siteCNN/SI Golf PlusESPN Golf OnlineGolf Online – “From the editors of Golf Magazine“Golf.com – Golf Digest and NBC Sports. Their Golfers Network offers eight hours of audio coverage a day.Golfcourse.com – Includes locators for Golf Courses, Associations, Instructors and Repair Shops.Golfweek – “Magazine preferred by serious golfers.” Recommended by Gary Trask n the April 2, 2007 Wall Street Journal: “Of all the magazine Web sites, this one is the most user-friendly and informative. Not only does it provide articles from Golfweek magazine, but it also has all of the wire stories and information on every golf event imaginable.”Ladies Professional Golf Association (LPGA)Mr. Golf Etiquette – With an Etiquette Primer and links to other Etiquette Sites.National Golf Foundation – Trade association for the business side of golfGolf Course Construction Activity – Tracks golf courses that are in the planning and construction cycle.Industy Calendar – “Tracks many trade shows, consumer golf shows, business meetings, industry conferences, educational seminars and other important events related to the business of golf.”PGA of America – Official sitePGA Tour & GolfWebPlay18: the Official Golf Course Internet SiteRoyal Birkdale Golf Club – UKRyder CupTiger Woods Official Golf Website – Produced by CBS SportslineUnited States Golf AssociationWall Street Journal Golf Journal: Selected articles:Taking Up Golf at Midlife: How a dedicated beginner, starting now, can get decent by fall by John Paul Newport, Golf Journal, Wall Street Journal, April 14, 2007.Getting the Pro Look: To Play With Her Husband, a Novice Buys Lessons — and Outfits – Laura Landro, Golf Journal, Wall Street Journal, February 2, 2008. “I may not yet be able to play the game — but at least I look the part.”The Mad Scientist of Course Design – September 15, 16-2007. “Pete Dye, 81, shuns computers, doing everything by feel. Here’s a look at his latest project” in Pound Ridge, New York.
Amateur Athletic Foundation of Los Angeles – Offers full-text of Olympic Games Official Reports including Bill Mallon’s The 1896 Olympic Games, The 1900 Olympic Games, The 1904 Olympic Games and The 1908 Olympic Games. There’s also an Olympic Games Primer and Olympic Oral Histories. From the Search Page you can view the full-text of a number of journals including Outing from 1883 to 1899.American Soccer History Archives – Maintained by Dave Litterer and described as a “comprehensive repository of information, statistics and essays relating to all aspects of the history of soccer in the United States from the 1860’s to the present.”Baseball Cards: 1887-1914 – 2,100 early baseball cards dating from 1887 to 1914 from the Library of Congress. Searchable by keyword and browsable by player, team, league, city and card set.Baseball Films of the Silent Era – Carl Bennett’s “database of information on films produced in the silent era of world cinema.”British Society of Sports History – Links to discussion, study, research and publications on the history of sport and physical education maintained by Richard William Cox.Distinguished Women of Past and Present: SportsNational Archives of Canada – Ottawa. Among the extensive digital collections is Sporting Lives: Images of Canadian Athletes.National Baseball Hall of Fame – Cooperstown, New York. The A. Bartlett Giamatti Research Center provides Archival Finding Aids and Inventories.Ralph Metcalfe The Olympic Years, 1932-1936 – “Digital collection featuring photographs, newspaper clippings, and other printed materials documenting sprinter Ralph Metcalfe between 1932-1936, when the Marquette undergraduate was known as “The World’s Fastest Human.”The Sports Page: Images from the Keystone-Mast Collection – Greatest moments in sports in images from 1900 through the late 1930’s taken by early Keystone View Company stereographers.
A to Z Encyclopedia of Ice Hockey – Developed by the Ice Hockey Annual and Graphyle Consultants.Heisman TrophyHockey: A Nation’s Passion – Created by the Virtual Museum of CanadaLCS Hockey – Last issue published June 23, 2000. Provides a National Hockey League Archive (1917-1997).National Hockey LeagueNHLPA – Official site of the National Hockey League Players’ AssociationNew York RangersSLAM! Sports Hockey – Canadian hockey news from Canadian Online Explorer.
Corbis – Stock photography and pictures. A rich resource for locating historic and contemporary photographs of athletes including many from the Underwood & Underwood archive of Babe Ruth and Lou Gehrig.National Archives of Canada – Ottawa. Among the extensive digital collections is Sporting Lives: Images of Canadian Athletes.The Sports Page: Images from the Keystone-Mast Collection – Greatest moments in sports in images from 1900 through the late 1930’s taken by early Keystone View Company stereographers.
Australian Sports CommissionInternational Association of Athletics Federation (IAFF) – Has an archive of Past Championships Results since 1983.
U.S. Sports Law – Links to federal and state documents, texts and law journal articles dealing with amateur, professional and international sports from the Legal Information Institute at Cornell Law School.
Joyce Sports Research Collection – University Libraries of Notre Dame. Features guides to the Libraries’ holdings in five subject areas: Baseball, Basketball, Boxing, American Football, and Wrestling. There is an Autographed Baseball Collection with an Index of Signatures and an Index of Baseballs which includes photographs of the balls from several anglesNational Archives of Canada – Ottawa. Among the extensive digital collections is Sporting Lives: Images of Canadian Athletes.National Baseball Hall of Fame – Cooperstown, New York. The A. Bartlett Giamatti Research Center provides Archival Finding Aids and Inventories.
FindArticles.com – Free online article-search service allows you to search for (and read) articles published over the last 1 to 2 years in more than 300 reputable magazines and journals. You can view publications by subject or by name.New Zealand Journal of Sports Medicine – Has a Journal Watch which links to article citations in PubMed for 9 sports medicine journals.Sports Illustrated
American Athletic InstituteBallparks by Munsey and SuppesCNN/AI – From CNN and Sports Illustrated. Includes CNN/SI Golf Plus.Goodwill GamesJFM’s NBA and NFL Power Ratings – Maintained by James F. McConnell, a retired professor of chemistry at SUNY Cortland.LevelEdge – Sports recruiting management portal for coaches, recruiters, student-athletes and their parents founded by Lisa Henderson.New York Yacht ClubOnly a Game – NPR and 90.9 WBUR Boston. With Show Archives. In Quidditch for Mugglescommentator Bill Littlefield visits Chocksett Middle School in Sterling, Massachusetts, for a game of Quidditch.Sports Psychology with Karlene Sugarman, M.A. – Part of the larger Psych Web site.SportServer – Nando TimesSportsWeb – International sports news from ReutersTSN – Canadian sportsSpecial Olympics InternationalSport! Science – San Francisco Exploratorium has sections on Baseball, Cycling andHockey and Skateboarding.Sportif – Sports-related German search engine created by the Bundesinstitut fÃ¼r Sportwissenschaft (Federal Institute of Sport Science).Sporting Life – UKSportLink – Sporting Goods Manufacturers’ AssociationSports and Eligibility – Who is Eligible to Play? – Webcast of November 11, 2005 symposium held at Case Law School.United States Sports Academy – Daphne, Alabama; “America’s graduate school of sport”
CBS SportsLineESPNFoxSportsNew York Times SportsSporting News – Site highlights include100 Most Powerful People in SportsarchivesTennis SoccerNBACollege BasketballBaseballNHLNFLCollege FootballSporting News RadioSports Network – Continuous sports scores and news feedUSA Today SportsWashington Post – SportsYahoo! – Sports – They also provide scores, news, standings, stats and schedules in theirSports News for various sports including , Major League Baseball, National Hockey League, National Basketball Association, World Soccer, Tennis and Golf.
Amateur Athletic Union – Sponsor of the Junior OlympicsAmateur Athletic Foundation of Los Angeles – Offers full-text of Olympic Games Official Reports including Bill Mallon’s The 1896 Olympic Games, The 1900 Olympic Games, The 1904 Olympic Games and The 1908 Olympic Games. There’s also an Olympic Games Primer and Olympic Oral Histories. From the Search Page you can view the full-text of a number of journals including Outing from 1883 to 1899.Ancient Olympics – Part of the Perseus Digital Library, Tufts University Classics DepartmentInternational Olympic Committee – On July 6th they selected London as the host for the 2012 games.Louis S. Nixdorff 1928 Olympic Games Collection, 1926-1978 – From the Smithsonian National Museum of American History Archives Center which has several other sport-related collections.Official Website of the Olympic MovementOlympics Through Time – Traces the history of the Games from ancient Greece through their modern revival in 1896. (Foundation of the Hellenic World)United States Olympic Committee
SIRC: A World of Sport Information – “World’s leading provider of sport information and research.” (Formerly known as SportQuest: Sport Information Resource Centre, compiler ofSport Discus)Sports Hot Sheet: directory of official sports web sites – Compact and useful listing of essential sports links compiled by Jack Styczynski, a librarian at the NBC Reference Library.Virtual Library of Sport
Dad Vail Regatta – Philadelphia. “Largest collegiate regatta in the United States, with over 100 colleges and Universities from the U.S. and Canada.”National Rowing FoundationRiver and Rowing Museum – Henley-on-Thames, UKWorld Wide Web Virtual Library: Rowing
Canterbury of New Zealand – Rugby clothing and gear.
Against the Winds: American Indian Running Traditions – Online exhibition at the Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology, Harvard University.Dr. Pribut’s Running Injuries Page – Stephen M. Pribut describes common running injuries and how to avoid them, as well as including information on basic biomechanics, shoes, stretching, cold and hot weather running, selecting a sports physician, and relevant organizations.Runner’s World Online
Cross-Country Skiing – Great Outdoor Recreation PagesDownhill Skiing – Great Outdoor Recreation Pages (GORP)SkiNetSnowSports Industries America (SIA) – “National association representing ski, snowboard, cross country, telemark and snowshoe suppliers, manufacturers and distributors.”U.S. Ski Team – Official web site of the U.S. Ski Team, USSA and the Snowboard team.
American Soccer History Archives – Maintained by Dave Litterer and described as a “comprehensive repository of information, statistics and essays relating to all aspects of the history of soccer in the United States from the 1860’s to the present.”Major League SoccerSoccerAgeSoccerAmericaSoccernet – Comprehensive general soccer site.
Warsaw Sports Marketing Center – University of Oregon
Athletic Training – California State University, Chico, provides useful information on injuriesAmerican Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine – Headquartered in Rosemont, Illinois, the Society “promotes and supports educational and research programs in sports medicine, including those concerned with fitness, as well as programs designed to advance our knowledge in the recognition, treatment, rehabilitation and prevention of athletic injuries.” Ask the Sports Doctor has information about sports injuries.Dr. Pribut’s Running Injuries Page – Stephen M. Pribut describes common running injuries and how to avoid them, as well as including information on basic biomechanics, shoes, stretching, cold and hot weather running, selecting a sports physician, and relevant organizations.Physician and Sportsmedicine OnlineNew Zealand Journal of Sports Medicine – Has a Journal Watch which links to article citations in PubMed for 9 sports medicine journals.Nicholas Institute of Sports Medicine and Athletic Trauma (NISMAT) – Site resources include a Runner’s Resource Guide and a Physical Therapy Corner with information on such topics as Hamstring Pull, Tennis Elbow and Knee Injuries and the Female Athlete.
ATP Tour – International tennis news. Official site of the Association of Tennis Professionals.College Tennis OnlineDavis Cup – Official siteRoland Garros (French Open)Tennis AustraliaTennis Magazine OnlineTennis Server – Daily news from tournaments, statistics, links to other resources, photographs and columns on sports psychology, the pro circuit, collegiate tennis, and pro tipsTennis Warehouse – Tennis productsU.S. Professional Tennis AssociationUnited States Tennis AssociationWimbledon Championships – Official site of the All England Lawn Tennis & Croquet Club.
CBC Archives: Great Interviews – Canadian Broadcasting CorporationDon Cherry: A Coach, A Commentator, A Controversy – Hockey coach and commentator. 8 TV clips and 5 radio clips.Chuvalo turns a negative into a positive – Boxer George Chuvalo, 29 May 1998. See also Still Standing: The People’s Champion George Chuvalo with 14 TV clips and 7 radio clips.Eagleson answers his critics – Alan Eagleson, Hockey union leader, 15 October 1991. See also The Rise and Fall of Alan Eagleson with 12 TV clips and 5 radio clips.Nancy Greene: sellout? – Nancy Greene, Skier, 10 November 1973. See also Ski Queen Nancy Greene with 6 TV clips and 8 radio clips.Hockey’s meteoric star – Wayne Gretzky, Hockey Great, 15 March 1974. See also The Great Wayne Gretzky with 16 TV clips and 8 radio clips.Catching up with Rick Hansen -Rick Hansen, Wheelchair athlete, 11 January 1994. See also Rick Hansen: Man In Motion with 17 TV clips and 2 radio clips.Meet the Hewitts – Foster Hewitt, Hockey broadcaster, 5 October 1956.Jumping for Joy – Greg Joy, Olympian, 10 January 1977.Princeton University WebMedia Archived LecturesThe Sporting Edge – IT Tools for Winning Soccer – Julie Shackford, Princeton University, April 2, 2008.Library of Congress WebcastsRoberto Gonzalez Echevarria: Reflections on the First Baseball Classic of 2006 – 30 June 2006Sharon Robinson: Jackie’s Nine: Jackie Robinson’s Values To Live By – 6 November 2001Sharon Robinson: Bookfest 01 – 9 October 2004. “She created and now manages “Breaking Barriers, In Sports, In Life,” a national character-education program designed to empower students with strategies to help them face obstacles in their lives.”Kareem Abdul-Jabbar – 9 October 2004. Discusses “Brothers in Arms: The Epic Story of the 761st Tank Battalion, WWII?s Forgotten Heroes”Baseball Panel: Sharon Robinson, Neal Conan, Bob Edwards, Scott Simon – 12 October 2002John Feinstein – 8 September 2001. “Author of several books that detail events and personalities in sports.”Shane Evans – 12 October 2002. Evans is an “illustrator of a series of children’s books featuring basketball greats Shaquille O’Neal and Magic Johnson.”Stephen Borelli: How About That! The Life of Mel Allen – 18 October 2005. “The first biography of Allen, one of the most famous sports broadcasters in American history.”